#WalangPasok on June 12 and June 15, 2018 | June Holidays Explained

#WalangPasok on June 12 and June 15, 2018

The Department of Education (DepEd) on Tuesday announced that there would be no classes on June 12 and 15.

  • June 12, 2018 – Celebration of  the 120th Independence Day
  • June 15, 2018 –  will mark the Muslim observance of Eid’l Fitr. Eid’l Fitr marks the end of the 30-day fasting period of Ramadan.


Facts Check on the spreading Fake News about a number of holidays this June.

 by Rappler.com


Claim: A certain blog (name omitted) on Friday, June 1, posted that June 6, 9, 11, 12, 15, 16, 18, 21 are all holidays declared by the Palace.

The site published with the headline, “Work & Class Suspensions On June 6, 9, 11, 12, 15, 16, 18, 21, 2018.”

The blog post’s first 3 paragraphs do not immediately say that Independence Day on June 12 is the only day declared by the Palace as a national non-working holiday, while the other dates are local non-working holidays.

walang pasok june 12 and june 15 2018The blog post was shared by 11 different Facebook pages and groups with a total of 1,676,890 followers. Within these groups and pages, the post has generated a total of 50,652 interactions as of Monday, June 4.

There are also other blogs which have reported on the list of June holidays, but the headlines of these articles immediately state that the holidays are in “selected areas” only.

Rating: MIXED

The Facts: Only June 12 is a national non-working holiday.

June 6, 9, 11, 15, 16, 18, and 21 are special non-working local holidays.

The post’s headline could be misinterpreted by the readers as declaring all 8 dates to be regular holidays.

Regular holidays are those celebrated on fixed dates such as Independence Day on June 12 or National Heroes’ Day on August 27 this year (the 4th monday of August). These holidays are celebrated nationwide.

Meanwhile, special non-working holidays are those for more specific events such as Ninoy Aquino Day on August 21, which is observed nationwide, or Leyte Landing Day on October 20 which is observed in the entire Leyte province (including Ormoc City).

The blog post, however, clarified in the succeeding paragraphs the type of holiday of each date mentioned.

With the exception of Independence day on June 12, the following dates are all special non-working, local holidays:

  • June 6 – holiday in Zamboanga del Norte to mark the province’s 66th founding anniversary as declared under Proclamation 497.

  • June 9 – holiday in Rosario, Batangas to celebrate the municipality’s founding anniversary (founded in 1687) as declared under Proclamation 498.

  • June 11 – holiday in Sagay, Negros Occidental to celebrate the city’s 22nd Charter anniversary as declared under Proclamation 501. Holiday in Rizal to celebrate the province’s 117th founding anniversary as declared under Proclamation 502.

  • June 15 – holiday in Algeria, Surigao del Norte to celebrate the municipality’s 50th founding anniversary as declared under Proclamation 494. Holiday in Angeles, Pampanga to celebrate the eruption of Mt Pinatubo in 1991 as declared under Proclamation 500.

  • June 16 – holiday in Bogo, Cebu to celebrate the city’s Charter anniversary (established as a city in 2007) as declared under Proclamation 495. Holiday in Molave, Zamboanga del Sur to celebrate the municipality’s 70th founding anniversary as declared under Proclamation 499.

  • June 18 – holiday in Carmen, Davao del Norte to celebrate the municipality’s founding anniversary (in 1966) as declared under Proclamation 496. Holiday in Ifugao to celebrate the province’s founding anniversary (founded in 1966) as declared under Proclamation 504.

  • June 21 – Holiday in Rosario, Agusan del Sur to celebrate the municipality’s Yagi-Yagi Festival of Native Cultural Heritage as declared under Proclamation 505.

Meanwhile, the date for Eid al-Fitr, a regular holiday, varies according to the Islamic calendar.

A presidential proclamation is usually issued to declare a specific date as a regular holiday. For instance, last year, June 26 was the declared date for the holiday.

A proclamation regarding the date of observance of Eid al-Fitr this year has not yet been issued.

In addition to this, the city of Manila will also celebrate “Manila Day,” its 447th founding anniversary, on June 24. A presidential proclamation regarding the holiday has not yet been issued. 



  • Rappler.com
  • By  Miguel Imperial
  • Published June 05, 2018


Was this helpful? Like and Share for others too.

You may also Like

Leave a Comment